Russian Politics, & Personalities

Gazprom’s Board of Directors

leave a comment »

Gazprom’s Board of Directors election took place today.  Twice.  First, they re-elected the Government’s representatives (Shmatko, and Nabuillina).  Then they voted to kick them off the board because President Medvedev demanded it.  Everyone that is except for the Chairman, Viktor Zubkov (who should also have left under President Medvedev’s rules).

At first, I was really confused, but then I remembered that the election was originally scheduled for the 24th (last Friday), and had been postponed without explanation a few weeks ago.  So, quick snap analysis.

It appears that there was some kind of dissension regarding who should succeed Zubkov.  Presumably, they were hoping to reach some kind of consensus by the 24th, but when that did not happen they were forced to postpone until today.  It seems to me that they called a second so-called “extraordinary” vote in a last ditch effort to find a replacement for Zubkov, but obviously that failed.  So, Zubkov stays on until they do, or until the end of September, whichever comes first.

Meanwhile, here is the list of new board members, and how many votes they received (I will new add biographies as Gazprom adds them):

Akimov Andrey Igorevich

  • Chairman of the Management Board, Gazprombank (Open Joint Stock Company)
  • 8,375,254,146

Ananenkov Alexander Georgievich

  • Deputy Chairman of the Management Committee, OAO Gazprom
  • 15,032,335,259

Gazizullin Farit Rafikovich

  • Member of the Board of Directors, OAO Gazprom
  • 17,096,041,666

Karpel Elena Evgenievna

  • Head of the Economic Expertise and Pricing Department, OAO Gazprom
  • 13,340,022,708

Kulibaev Timur Askarovich

  • Chairman of the Management Board, Samruk-Kazyna National Welfare Fund (Joint Stock Company)
  • 11,339,560,477

Mau Vladimir Alexandrovich

  • Rector of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (Federal Budget-Funded Educational Institution of Higher Professional Education)
  • 17,084,829,114

Miller Alexey Borisovich

  • Chairman of the Management Committee, OAO Gazprom
  • 20,868,525,577

Musin Valery Abramovich

  • Head of the Civil Procedure Department, Faculty of Law, Saint Petersburg State University
  • 23,107,019,253

Sereda Mikhail Leonidovich

  • Deputy Chairman of the Management Committee – Head of the Administration of the Management Committee, OAO Gazprom
  • 19,194,774,605

Yusufov Igor Khanukovich

  • Special Envoy of the Russian Federation President for International Energy Cooperation
  • 17,084,013,140

Zubkov Viktor Alexeevich

  • First Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation
  • 20,233,719,916

P.S. Here are a few links for those of you interested in photos, or an analysis of Miller’s speech.


Written by Nina Jobe

June 30, 2011 at 6:21 PM

Posted in Gazprom

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: