Putinania

Russian Politics, & Personalities

Luzhkov

with one comment

There are so many stories going around about this Luzhkov thing that I am almost reluctant to put up anything.  However, I am interested in the shortlist.  Everyone has their favourites, I guess, but here are a few that I’ve picked up from a Businessweek article:

-Boos.  I find this one odd since he was just forced out of Kaliningrad about a month ago.

-Sobyanin’s name keeps getting thrown around, too.  However, I still see Sobyanin as a risk.  I know he’s been around for about 5 years, but IMHO he is still a newbie.  I don’t know.  I just don’t feel good about it.

-Sergei Borisovich Ivanov.  Honestly?  I don’t want to lose the new, and IMHO improved Sergei Borisovich.  He is so much happier, and relaxed (and can I say less crazy?) now that he is out of the spotlight.  Can we please keep him that way?  Also, I don’t think DAM would go for it.

-Sergei Shoigu.  As for Shoigu, I do not really have any opinion one way or the other.  The man is certainly loyal (I’ll give him that).  And he always manages to stay above the fray, and/or out of the spotlight.  Which just seems odd because MChS is always involved during crises.  But if you had to score Shoigu, you’d give him an average score, wouldn’t you?  And why?  I don’t know.  He’s bland, and unexciting (except for the fact that he raises Labradors), and seems to get stuff done.  But in the back of my mind, I still remember Beslan, and then I don’t feel so good about him.  However, I think he’d be a loyal replacement.

P.S. Vedmosti is reporting that Yuri may be out by the end of the week, and someone else is saying December.

Meanwhile, here is Robert Coalson’s piece on the whole scandal.

EDIT: Sergei Ivanov has said that he is not interested in being mayor of Moscow.  Like I said, he is so much saner now.

Written by Nina Jobe

September 17, 2010 at 3:00 PM

Posted in Moscow

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Boos – ha, ha, ha! You’re exactly right; that won’t happen, and I can’t imagine what the author of the article was thinking. I don’t think any of the other contenders has the necessary charisma to be immediately acceptable to Muscovites, especially given the uniform solid (official) support for Luzhkov at the municipal level.

    Hey, I know!! Offer it to Boris Nemtsov!! It’d be a great peacemaking gesture, he’d be too busy to be always shooting off his mouth without offering any alternatives the way he does now (assuming he accepted), and he could probably do a half-decent job. It’d (theoretically) keep him out of future leadership races (which he can’t win anyway) and he’d owe a debt of loyalty to those who appointed him.

    marknesop

    September 24, 2010 at 12:00 PM


Leave a Reply

