Putinania

Russian Politics, & Personalities

Destined to be at Odds

with 2 comments

Slava Surkov has been showing up frequently in the past few days.  First, for the fifth anniversary of Nashi, where he reportedly said:

If we all go on vacation, the consequences won’t wait. We see what’s happening in Kyrgyzstan — that means we’re needed and have to be at our posts. … Those who chose for themselves the political fight will never be able to relax again….

Well, okay then…

And Slava had still more wisdom to share with us on Kyrgyzstan in an interview with RIA Novosti.  RIA Novosti thoughtfully gave me a headline that was sure to catch my eye: “Lack of democracy Kyrgyzstan’s real problem – Kremlin”.

Huh?

I felt compelled to read the article, and as I did so, I realised (once again… how do I forget?) that Slava’s definition of “democracy”, and my definition of “democracy” are two very different things.  Slava’s definition is probably best summed up by him in this interview.

The events in Kyrgyzstan are not just a political crisis, they are a tragic example of what happens to a society unable to create a strong state…

And more:

[Such events happen when] instead of solid democratic institutions something else takes hold: clans instead of parties, corruption instead of economy, foreign loans instead of a treasury, disorder instead of elections, a crowd of looters instead of civil society and personal ambitions instead of the will of the majority.

So, Slava and I are destined to be at odds, but I am still compelled to, if not like, at least find him horribly fascinating.  Like some kind of deadly poisonous snake maybe.

Written by Nina Jobe

April 17, 2010 at 1:24 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Slava and I are destined to be at odds, but I am still compelled to, if not like, at least find him horribly fascinating. Like some kind of deadly poisonous snake maybe.”

    Hahaha. I think I’m far less at ideological odds with Slava, yet I have basically the same reaction to him.

    poemless

    May 16, 2010 at 4:22 PM

  2. I don’t understand how Surkov’s definition of democracy differs from your own, presumably Western, view, based on what you’ve written here -would you care to elaborate? I can’t see howone could disagree with the comments cited above…

    Vickie

    May 13, 2012 at 7:54 AM


Leave a Reply

