Putinania

Russian Politics, & Personalities

My First Entry

leave a comment »

is a comment on Dmitry Medvedev’s VideoBlog.  I do not necessarily care what DAM says in these.  They are an appeal to a very small sector of society (in general people my age) who care about these things.  Thus, in the main, they are pointless, and not worth analysing.  In addition, I am not even sure that DAM believes what he is saying.  But I love watching these because I can almost imagine the setting…  

Directly to the side of the camera sits Natalia Timakova (or a subordinate).  She is holding up poster boards with the words to the speech printed on them.  There is another person taking the used poster boards from Natalia (or subordinate), and a third person is showing Medvedev what facial expressions to make…

It is pretty obvious that these entries are very well thought out, and the hours spent practising them must be brutal. But I question their effectiveness, and perhaps they are more trouble and money than they are worth.  On the other hand, I have noticed a vast improvement in DAM’s delivery over the past year or so. Natalia Timakova’s efforts have paid off in transforming DAM into a somewhat believable communicator, and I am interested to see how her work proceeds.

Written by Nina Jobe

August 28, 2009 at 2:43 AM

Leave a Reply

